Facebook Legacy Contact: What Happens to Your Account When You Pass Away?

23 Feb 2015
Facebook Legacy Contact: What Happens to Your Account When You Pass Away?
Image Source: Mashable

Facebook has been working on this ‘matter of life and death’ and finally came up with the idea of Facebook Legacy Contact.

From now on, you are able to choose a legacy contact to manage your Facebook account after death! This way, Facebook makes it easier to memorialize our loved ones on the platform.

Facebook’s new feature is currently available in the United States and can be controlled through the ‘Privacy Settings’ section.

You have two options about what to do with your account when you pass away —delete your account or choose a legacy contact.

facebook-legacy-contact

Here are the abilities of a chosen legacy contact:

  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

In parallel with this new feature, Facebook also redesigned the memorialized accounts by adding a “Remembering” title before the names.

facebook-legacy-contact-2

As you can see on the screenshot, a legacy contact can post a special update and pin it to the top.

Concerning the privacy of users, Facebook does not allow the legacy contact to access private messages or activities.

Let's Read!

Snug Social editors picked these readings you might enjoy!

Have fun!

What’s the Future of Business
Brian Solis

Born to Blog
Mark Schaefer, Stanford Smith

The New Community Rules
Tamar Weinberg

Related Posts

Let's Comment!
Did you find Legacy Contact useful?